Baltic Prime Ministers sign declaration on synchronisation by February 2025 at the latest


2023 08 03


The Prime Ministers of Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia – Ingrida Šimonytė, Krišjānis Kariņš, and Kaja Kallas – have signed a joint declaration committing to synchronise the Baltic States’ electricity grids with Western Europe no later than by February 2025. 

“Together with the Prime Ministers of Latvia and Estonia, we have agreed on a specific deadline – February 2025 – to connect our electricity grids to Western Europe. This is a clear commitment not to extend the BRELL contract and to complete all the necessary work by the agreed deadline. While we believe that the Baltic electricity systems would, in principle, be ready for synchronisation earlier than by February 2025, it is important to act in unison on the remaining tasks, which were agreed upon at both political and operator levels,” said Prime Minister Šimonytė. 

The declaration also endorsed the agreement between the Transmission System Operators of Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia, which entered into force on 1 August 2023. This agreement identifies the concrete steps needed to disconnect from the BRELL ring and synchronise the Baltic electricity networks with those of continental Europe. 

The declaration underlines the need to complete all the necessary work to ensure that synchronisation takes place no later than by February 2025. 

Full Joint Declaration in English.